The governing control of the University is vested in a Board of Trustees established by action of the State Legislature (HB 650, Act No. 773, September 9, 1967). The board is composed of the Governor as president ex officio, ten members—six from within the area comprising the Fourth and Fifth Congressional Districts, three from the state at large, and one additional at-large member from within or outside of the state—appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate.

The chief administrative officer of the University is the President.  The President is assisted and advised by an administrative staff, by members of the faculty and faculty agencies such as the Faculty Senate and the Graduate Council, and by various university committees. Each college of the University is administered by a dean and each department by a chair.

The academic programs and courses of instruction of the University are organized under colleges and departments, as follows:

College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering

  • School of the Arts
  • School of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • School of Natural Sciences, Engineering, and Mathematics
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Chemistry and Physics
  • Department of Cinematic Arts and Theatre
  • Department of Communication
  • Department of Engineering and Industrial Professions
  • Department of English
  • Department of Entertainment Industry
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Geoscience
  • Department of History
  • Department of Mathematics 
  • Department of Military Science (ROTC)
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Politics, Justice, Law, and Philosophy
  • Department of Psychology and Sociology
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Visual Arts and Design

Sanders College of Business and Technology

  • Department of Accounting and Business Law
  • Department of Computer Science and Information Systems
  • Department of Finance, Economics, and Data Analytics
  • Department of Management and Marketing

College of Education and Human Sciences

  • Department of Counselor Education       
  • Department of Kinesiology
  • Department of Teaching, Learning, and Leadership
  • Kilby School 

Anderson College of Nursing and Health Professions

  • Undergraduate Programs Department: Traditional BSN, Accelerated BSN, RN to BSN, RN to MSN, and BS in Applied Health Science
  • Graduate Programs Department:  DNP, MSN and Post-Master's Certificates